#### 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual

# Celebrating Engineering Success Reception

2008–2009 Research Awards & Grants



#### **Research Awards and Grants**

#### Renewed Endowed Chairs 2008-2009

Bahen Tannenbaum Chairs in Civil Engineering Michael Collins, CivE Jeffrey Packer, CivE

Celestica Chair in Materials for Microelectronics

Doug Perovic, MSE

Gerald R. Heffernan Chair in Materials Processing Torstein Utigard, MSE

The Meek Family Chair in Advanced Nanotechnology (formerly Energenius Chair)
Harry Ruda, MSE

Stanley Ho Professorship in Microelectronics Sorin Voinigescu, ECE

#### 2008-2009 NSERC Strategic Grants

J. Stewart Aitchison, ECE Levente Diosady, ChemE Glenn Hibbard, MSE Baochun Li, ECE Chul Park, MIE Yu Sun, MIE

#### **CFI Leadership Opportunity Fund**

Alis Ekmekci, UTIAS Giovanni Grasselli, CivE Phillippe Lavoie, UTIAS Kaiwen Xia, CivE

#### 2008–2009 Early Researcher Awards

#### Round 4

Ashvin Goel, ECE Michael Gruninger, MIE Olivera Kesler, MIE David Lie, ECE Radhakrishnan Mahadeyan, ChemE

#### Round 5

Edgar Acosta, ChemE Axel Guenther, MIE Emma Master, ChemE Joyce Poon, ECE

#### **NSERC Accelerator Grants**

Hans-Arno Jacobsen, ECE Olivera Kesler, MIE Jean Zu, MIE

#### Renewed Canada Research Chairs 2008-2009

#### Chair in Quantum Information

Hoi-Kwong Lo, ECE

Chair in Polymer Processing Technologies Chul Park, MIE

#### **New Canada Research Chairs 2008–2009**

Chair in Diffusion-Wave Sciences and Technologies Andreas Mandelis, MIE

Chair in Micro- and Nano-Engineering Systems

Yu Sun, MIE

#### **2009 NSERC RTI Grants**

Constantin Christopoulos, CivE

Charles Jia, ChemE

Philippe Lavoie, UTIAS

Peter Lehn, ECE

James Mills, MIE

Shamim Sheikh, CivE

Craig Simmons, MIE

Brent Sleep, CivE

Kaiwen Xia, CivE

Jean Zu, MIE

#### 2009 Ontario Research Fund Research Excellence

 $Congratulations \ to \ the \ two \ faculty \ members \ whose \ research \ teams \ were \ awarded \ ORF-RE \ grants.$  Their names have not yet been officially announced.

#### **NSERC CREATE**

Congratulations to the three faculty members whose research teams were awarded NSERC CREATE grants. Their names have not yet been officially announced.

#### **Heart & Stroke Career Investigator Award (Renewal)**

David Steinman, MIE

#### **NSERC Discovery Grants**

Congratulations to the 52 Engineering faculty members who were awarded NSERC Discovery grants in 2009.

#### **Genome Canada**

Elizabeth Edwards, ChemE: BEEM: Bioproducts and

Enzymes from Environmental Metagenomes

Co-investigators: Emma Master, ChemE; Krishna Mahadevan, ChemE; Doug Reeve, ChemE; Bradley Seville, ChemE; Charles Mims, ChemE; Heather MacLean, CivE

## **Engineering Professor Appointed Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering**

MIE Professor Javad Mostaghimi was appointed University of Toronto Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering for a five-year term that began Jan. 1, 2009.

Designed to advance and recognize faculty with highly distinguished accomplishments and who display exceptional promise, the prestigious University of Toronto Distinguished Professor awards are limited to no more than 3% of the tenured faculty in a Faculty.

Professor Mostaghimi's main research interests are the study of thermal spray coatings, transport phenomena and electromagnetics in thermal plasma sources. He has published more than 100 papers in refereed journals and has been cited approximately 1,500 times. His research has also resulted in four patents. In 1998, he founded the Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies (CACT), which is internationally recognized for its fundamental and applied multidisciplinary research in thermal spray coatings.

From 2002-2006 he served as the Vice-Dean, Research and Graduate Studies for the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering, overseeing a nearly 50% increase in the number of doctoral students in the Faculty and coordinating the creation and implementation of a number of international agreements.

Professor Mostaghimi is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering, and the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry. He is a Senior Fellow at both Massev College and the Institute for Advanced Studies, University of Bologna. In addition, he is currently a member of the Advisory Board of the Ontario Research Fund and the Board of Management of the Centre for Materials and Manufacturing -Ontario Centres of Excellence.

During the term of the Distinguished Professor Award Professor Mostaghimi proposes to focus on the impact and solidification of metal droplets in thermal spray



coating procedures. Increased understanding of the thermal spray process could lead to more effective methods of protecting combustion engines and turbines from heat, improving their thermal efficiency and resulting in substantial savings in fuel and lower emissions of greenhouse gases.

### University of Toronto Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

Galbraith Building 35 St. George Street Toronto, ON M5S 1A4

Tel: 416.978.3131 Fax: 416.978.4859

Email: dean@ecf.utoronto.ca www.engineering.utoronto.ca